Best chord technique book?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by AaeCee, Jan 15, 2008.

1. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

I have been playing for about 3 years now, but gravitate toward single note lead lines, thus my chording ability is seriously lacking. My instructor refers to me as 'BB' as in King, as he exemplified that type of style (not that I'm anywhere near his ballpark!). Anyway, I want to concentrate on further developing my chording technique with work on progressions, etc. Anyone know of a good book in that area that is fun to use and covers both the blues and jazz spectrums? Thanks!

2. spencerbk

spencerbk Member

I bet I'll be the first of many to recommend Ted Greene's Chord Chemistry.

Lots and lots and lots of ideas in there (though you certainly have to dig in on your own to maximize the benefit). A classic.

3. Red Suede

Red Suede Member

Check out Robben Ford's book "Rhythm Blues" for a lot of the hip blues inversions and feels.

4. Tom Gross

Tom Gross Member

5. Clifford-D

Clifford-D Member

The best chord books are books full of tunes.

6. Elektrik_SIxx

Elektrik_SIxx Member

Chord Chemistry is pretty involved and might turn you off if you're not yet already totally into chords. In your case, I would check out something like 'All Blues for Jazz Guitar' by Jim Ferguson. This is a complete and in-depth overview of comping styles in jazz-blues guitar.

7. tacorivers

tacorivers Silver Supporting Member

+1. Much better for me than the other suggestions (although they are all good books).

8. Kappy

Kappy Member

Ted Greene's Modern Chord Progressions.