Best Compressor/Compression Pedal between $49-$199?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by SinglecutGuy, Feb 3, 2012.

1. SinglecutGuy

SinglecutGuy Supporting Member

I'm starting to think I have a need for one, but I don't know what to get, or have the luxury of trying a bunch out.

I trust you guys. What should I get and why? I have a mixture of PRS and Fender guitars.

2. teleclem

teleclem Member

What kind of comp sounds are you going for?

Two of the most talked about comps here are in thay price range (fgc and diamond). I'd reckon the Empress can be had for 200 used. That's what I use and it's great.

3. crxshdxmmy

crxshdxmmy Supporting Member

The Diamond Compressor is what I've been relying on for more than 3 years now. At minimal settings, it adds a nice bit of sustain and balance to my playing... and really just makes everything sound better. I rarely turn it off. You can crank it up for serious sustain if that's what you're after, but it doesn't take over your signal in a squishy way — which is awesome. Also has a handy tilt EQ (with serious range) for times when you want to adjust your tonal focus on-the-fly and it's not noisy at all.

Some time back, I compared it to the FGC head-to-head because I was curious and came away loving the Diamond more than ever. The MP is obviously more versatile, but for what I want out of a compressor... the Diamond is just perfect.

4. SteveV60

SteveV60 Member

Diamond is a mainstay a lot of the others are just fads.

5. duderanimous

duderanimous Monsterpiece Fuzz - Fuzz Master Extraordinaire Silver Supporting Member

Diamond Comp all the way

6. SinglecutGuy

SinglecutGuy Supporting Member

Is it the yellow Diamond? A friend of mine has one...he doesn't use it much anymore. Maybe I should buy it?

7. lv

lv Supporting Member

Whirlwind red box, 115 new and sounds almost identical to the mxr dynacomp 76 ri if you want something with a little more flavor.

8. popinvasion