Best Dot Reissue ES-335

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by clothwiring, Feb 15, 2006.

1. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

What are the best Dot Reissue ES-335s era? Considering 1981 - current? I hear people say the first few years and also the mid 90s. Looking for some informed opinions on this as a 335 is probably my next purchase. Thanks.

2. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

The current Historics with the long pickguard (to bridge bottom). Nice fairly stout '59 neck, perfect fret size, 57 PAFs, nicely built. Sounds great. Miss mine.

3. arniez

arniez Supporting Member

I have an '84 with a 59 type of neck profile and pretty light. Overall pretty well made, much nicer than some of the more recent ones I've seen. I have no experience with the custom shop stuff.
    ArnieZ

4. kingsleyd

kingsleyd Frikkin genyus Gold Supporting Member

Current Historics are nice, as a rule. Early '80s dot reissues can also be very nice. I've owned both. In both cases, opinions vary a lot regarding the pickups. Also, for whatever reason, it seems like the guitar-to-guitar variation (tone-wise) with 335s is very large. I don't think you can sum it up neatly as "one era is better than another."

I think it's a matter of playing as many as you can find, and wait to buy until you find one that really blows up your dress. Regardless of what era it's from.

5. Mwoodbro

Mwoodbro Silver Supporting Member

I also have an '84. Cherry burst. I'd say the neck on mine is medium profile. Somewhere between 60's and 50's/59 profile. It is a great playing and sounding guitar.

6. billygoat

billygoat Member

96 dot over here. Slim taper neck, but super super light. Nice flamey top.

7. bbarnard

bbarnard Member

If you aren't completely wedded to the Gibson name, I can highly recommend the Tokai ES120. Just a beautiful guitar.

8. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

I think if I was going to go away from the Gibson line, I'd get a Ibanez Scofield model.

9. rbisherw