Best electric nylon string guitar

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by duaneallen, Jul 8, 2006.

1. duaneallen

duaneallen Supporting Member

I already have a nice traditional classical guitar. I am looking for a good electric nylon string guitar for playing jazz and bossas with. I would like the more modern thinner neck width. I don't want to spend more than $1000. The quality of the pickup/preamp is very important, but I definetely want a solid top. Thanks.

2. landru64

landru64 Member

i'm no expert, but i have been blown away at the sound of those yamaha silent guitars, given how cheap they are. i just used a steel string one for a gig and everyone was really impressed. it played great too. very high quality, and this is coming from someone used to boutique guitars a la sadowsky.

3. notpetrucci

notpetrucci Member

How much do the godins run?

Also, isnt the Gibby Atkins nylon?

-Jon

4. jordanL

jordanL Member

Check out the Godin ACS. I considered one during my flirtation with guitar synthesis. I think they run around $700 used.

5. Suriel Zayas

Suriel Zayas Member

i had a godin acs, and did not like at all. too many deadspots on the fretboard. however, i picked up an early 90's gibson chet atkins that kicks butt compared to godin.

6. BSHARP

BSHARP Member

FWIW - I have the Cordoba CWE-S. Made in spain, cutaway body, Fishman electronics, narrower neck, gold tuners, solid spruce top, SKB hard shell case and all for less than $1K. I've had it a few years and I love it. Traded a Yamaha for it. Bought it at GC. There are few reviews on HC although none that I have posted.

7. Brett Valentine

Brett Valentine Member