best fingerstyle guitar under 1000

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by fndrfreek5o, Jul 9, 2010.

1. fndrfreek5o

fndrfreek5o Member

so whats the best fingerstyle acoustic for under a 1000 i don't really want a classical so please leave out nylon string suggestions thanks!

2. aeronius

aeronius Member

I have an Epiphone Masterbilt EF500R that's pretty awesome. Has that vintage Martin vibe w/o the price tag (got it for about $650 at GC). Also, the Taylor 214ce is a fantastic deal as well. Every single one I've played has been spectacular. You might also try the Breedlove American series. Those are pretty nice and start at $1000, but I prefer the Taylors in the sub $1k range. I think they sound a lot better.

3. zombywoof

zombywoof Member

Any guitar will work. I have played fingerstyle on wood guitars, steel guitars, f-hole archtops, round soundhole archtops, big guitars, little guitars, vintage guitars, newer guitars.

In general though, most folks tend to favor small body guitars because they tend to sound more balanced than say a Martin dread which is known for a booming bass.

You also might consider buying used - you will get alot more guitar for your bucks. Also, I would put my money into the guitar - you can always add electronics later.

About the best guitars near your price range that I have played are the Larrivee Series 03 guitars.

4. whomad1215

whomad1215 Member

Larrivee makes some great guitars, you can get a used one for a real deal.
    and L style or a parlor from them would make a fantastic fingerstyle.
    I have the LSV-11 which I got off of ebay a few years ago for a great price and I absolutely love it. Only acoustic I have now and I'm not looking for another.

5. vintageparlors

vintageparlors Member

I like what zoomby said.
    Don't forget to add vintage to your search. Lots of good vibes coming out of these old girls.

6. zombywoof

zombywoof Member