Best Matchless for pure clean

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by weekapaugh, Feb 15, 2006.

1. weekapaugh

weekapaugh Member

I'm a total noob when it comes to Matchless amps but was wondering which is the best one for pure non-breaking up clean and max headroom?? I have a Carr Rambler and just looking for a different flavored clean machine. Other brand suggestions welcomed as well...

2. Rusty G.

Rusty G. Member

I really wouldn't suggest a Matchless for pure clean. Fender twins would be the first thing that comes to my mind for clean headroom. With that said, I've got a Matchless DC30 and it's best at that just breaking up sound. . .jangly sound, with a Ric 360, Tele or Strat. I think that it sounds best with single coil pickups, although humbuckers aren't bad, they're just not the best.

For a humbucker guitar, I would think that a Chieftain would probably best suit what you're looking for, if you've got to have a Matchless and clean.

Once again, I find that my DC30 is a GREAT rock guitar, with great classic rock crunch and jangly (read slightly breaking up) cleans.

Good luck!

3. Frosty

Frosty Member

I would agree with Rusty. I had a Matchless Chieftain for a while. I loved it for certain styles of rock and roll, but it was never clean enough to do anything else. I found that a 50 watt Fuchs filled all my needs.

4. the_Chris

the_Chris It's All Been Done Before Gold Supporting Member

Didn't Matchless have something called the SuperChief that was supposed to have a lot more wattage than the rest of the line?

5. Roe

Roe Member

loudest and cleanest: thunderchief 200: 4 kt100s or kt88s

6. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

Matchless Chief. They are the 100 watt version of the Chieftain. A friend of mine owns one and he can just pump the master volume and get great cleans.

7. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member