Best Replacement Trem Unit For Jazzmaster

jnewmark

I recently purchased a 60's Lacquer JM from Chicago Music Exchange and I really like it but not too thrilled with the stock trem unit. It doesn't fall out or anything, in fact its a little stiff, but it makes a " clanking " noise if I use it in both directions ( up and down ) that is annoying. I've got it in as far as it will go, but it doesn't seem to " lock " in with a definite click. Is this normal ? I'm a bass player by trade, and the JM is just a fun guitar for me, not going to gig with it at all. Is there a drop in after market trem unit that would work smoother/quieter for this model JM ? Also, what is a good gauge string to use for the JM, and should I go old school with flats for that authentic Ventures tone ? Any help, tips etc. much appreciated.

DiAmoroso

I would go with an American Fender trem or a Mastery. Both should drop in no problem, I believe. For Jazzmasters if you have it set up correctly you should be fine with any guage 10s or above, so what ever feels good for you. I have used Thomastik flats on many guitars with great results, I would also suggest you give those a try.

jnewmark

You said you have it all the way in, does that mean tension-screw screwed tight? There's a chance that floating it evenly could smooth it out, and fix the clanking. Yours doesn't lock, just the ones with the round button tab.

If yours is settable, keep it, but I've had great luck with two AVRI tailpieces, functionally and tonally.
https://www.premierguitar.com/articles/25516-diy-how-to-set-up-jazzmasters-jaguars?page=4
There is no adjustment as far as I can tell. Not sure what you mean by " floating " ? It is not tension screw tight, I just pushed it in as far as it would go. By stiff I mean the up and down movement.

flume

Double Platinum Member
Interested in this.