Best Shimmer?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by randy morser, Feb 1, 2015.

1. randy morser

randy morser Member

With all the new shimmer-capable reverb pedals on the market, I was wondering if some of you who used shimmer reverb pedals on a regular basis might be able to point me in the right direction. I have never used this kind of thing before, but I'd like to get started. Which ones are the best? Board real estate is also a factor for me.

Thanks,
    Randy

2. dllb

dllb Member

Are you looking for P&W shimmer or some other shimmer sounds?

3. evaporatus

evaporatus Silver Supporting Member

I have the Neunaber Seraphim on my acoustic board & the Mak Octronix on my gigging board. The Seraphim shimmer sounds sweet (don't know how else to describe) & I use it mainly for background ambience. The Mak shimmer is more out front & intense (at least that's how I use it on one of our originals). Both are under $200, but I've never tried the Strymon, Walrus or any of the bigger box, more expensive shimmers.

4. gibs5000

gibs5000 Member

for me it would be between the Blue Sky and the Seraphim, most of the others just sound unnatural to me (if that makes sense). Of those two, I like the Seraphim the best.

5. bobcunningham

bobcunningham Member

I've owned several; Eterna, Gold Modified Eterna, Behringer/Verbzilla, blueSky, Supernatural. Right now I'm rocking the Seraphim Stereo. It's flawless.

6. Igotsoul4u

Igotsoul4u Member

I just picked up a polara for $149. It's a quality reverb in a compact/sturdy package. Can't beat the lexicon sound. I only use the "shimmery" reverbs for swell. In general I don't like the digitized high pitched thing. Sounds like chipmunks voices. I do like the modulated reverb but the Halo or any sound like it from another pedal is not really my thing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWhDoYgMcng

7. AnalogKid85

AnalogKid85 Member