Best training book for Logic 10?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by IceTre, May 3, 2015.

1. IceTre

IceTre Silver Supporting Member

I recently purchased Logic 10.1. The "help", as all Apple help, is pretty bad. And it didn't come with the software; it's online, so it's very slow, and if you're not on the internet, you can't access it. Grrrr.... Anybody have a book they like? I'm new to DAW's.

2. Hairpin Turns

Hairpin Turns Member

3. LSchefman

LSchefman Member

I have the Nahmani book, and it's OK as far as it goes, but it's not deep enough when you have a specialized question. Better are Orren Merton's Logic books, and Edgar Rothermich's Logic Pro X, that really goes into the whys and wherefores with very well thought out graphic explanations.

Edgar's books are also available as either PDFs or iBooks, which makes them excellent computer or iPad companions while you work.

Edgar also updates them each time Logic is updated, and the new features are thorougly explained.

Both Edgar and Orren are active on the Logic User Group forum, which is the oldest Logic-centric forum out there. I recommend both authors highly.

I make this recommendation as a pro user who still refers to these books, and a DAW user since 1987. These DAWs are deep enough that it pays to keep these books around even if you're very experienced when something comes up that you don't use often or if a feature changes.

4. Tom CT

Tom CT Old Supporting Member

5. JPF

JPF Member

Thanks, Les - I just bought Edgar's "How Logic Works " iBook. Reading and learning it should keep me out of trouble for a little while...

6. CoKid

CoKid Member

7. stratology

stratology Member

+1.
    This is actually a 2 book course, book 2 is scheduled for release in June, so is an update for book 1.
    They have good audio content, and example projects that you can work on.
    Available on paper or as epub (for iPad etc.).