1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Best Versatile Compressor: Tone Pump, Diamond Comp, HBE, Other?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by themusicboxstudios, Jan 4, 2006.

1. themusicboxstudios

themusicboxstudios Member

Hey guys, i'm new to compressors and i just want one that is quiet and versatile. i want to be able to get subtle compression all the way to country squish.

any suggestions?

thanks, jon

2. Stevoreen

Stevoreen Member

The Carl Martin compressor is the most versatile for my needs. I can dial anything from chicken pickin to increased sustain. There are 4 knobs on this one, so there's a bit of a learning curve, but it's a very high quality sounding pedal.

3. sanhozay

sanhozay klon free since 2009

I like the Analog Man Bi-Comp. Two classic comps {Ross & OJ} in one tiny pedal.

4. Berlin Chris

Berlin Chris Member

I like (and have) the Keeley comp, but for single coils only.

Not to steal the thread, but .... what´s the best compressor pedal out there for use with humbuckers?

5. Stevoreen

Stevoreen Member

I'm using the Carl Martin with Dimarzio Humbuckers and it works great for me. I used the HBE prior to the CM and while the HBE offered nice compression, I could dial in a more usable sound on the CM. I also like the separate LED on the CM that lights up as the compression is kicking in.

6. dividedsky

dividedsky Member

For your needs I would recommend a Barber Tone Press or a Tone Factor Squeeze Factor. Both can blend from clean boost to full compression. The Squeeze Factor is what I use now and is based on the Dan Armstrong Orange comp...Barber is a Ross sounding circuit.

7. Stevoreen

Stevoreen Member

Yeah, I had forgotten about the Tone Press. I used to leave that one on all the time. That blend feature was really nice. Very easy to dial in a great sound.

8. StompBoxBlues

StompBoxBlues Member