• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Best/worst guitar control layout

DR5Guy

Hello!

Please vote for the best and worst control layout (location of the tone controls and switches) of any guitar you have played. The layout should be judged by its ergonomics. My personal choices are - best:

1. 2011-2012 PRS Custom 24
2. Fender Prodigy

worst:

1. EBMM Armada

Thanks

Deed_Poll

I like a 2 vol / 2 tone layout myself. My favourite is probably my es330 with the switch amongst the knobs, but LP style is fine also. Stock strat layout with vol/tone/tone is my least favourite if you're talking popular guitars as the vol knob gets in the way and you can't roll off the bridge treble! Nightmare. I have my strat master vol / master tone / blender to simplify and get some cool tele sounds. The dead simple tele system is pretty hard to beat, although I hear the volume knob sometimes interferes with the switch.
Most crazy probably is the jag, as you can get a bit carried away with the downstrokes and turn the pickups off! Pretty silly.

scolfax

Silver Supporting Member
USA G&L Legacy. Master vol, master treble, master bass, and 5-way pickup selector.

Ghostmaker

Best:

Les Paul. Easy to reach anything. As someone who makes quick changes from dirty to clean, I can easily slap the pickup selector as I'm strumming up.

Worst:

Any that put the pickup selector between knobs, such as on Jacksons and BC Rich's.

Also, the PRS rotary knob. Takes too much movement of the hand to select pickups while playing.

V-man