Big sound from low watt amps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Shawnee, May 25, 2015.

1. Shawnee

Shawnee Member

Hey guys,
    I am thinking about building an amp from scratch (I'm an electronics tech by trade). I have a Splawn Quickrod that kills but it's a 100 watts! I could build a nice 70's/80's rock preamp like the Splawn, Rockstah, or similar but would like to have something with lower power (10-30 watts). My concern is having an amp that sounds "small" even on a 4x12 cab. I'm trying to decide between a push/pull EL84 or 6V6 type power section or would a single ended EL34 sound bigger (I could even parallel 2 tubes)? I need that ROAR but below 1000 decibels. I have an Orange TH30 (4xEL84's) that I reworked and it sounds good but doesn't roar like the Splawn. I had a Friedman Pink Taco and didn't like it at all. Not sure if the power sections are the issue for me or not. I do like a lot of the Phaez demos and he does quite a bit of single ended stuff. I have also considered reworking a JTM45 since they are 30 watts but for a dirty amp, 30 watts is a LOT in a bedroom.

If you have direct experience playing dirty tones through lower and higher wattage stuff through the same cab, I would love to hear from you!

2. Chris Martins

Chris Martins Member

I used to get amazing recorded tones from a small 1 watt Blackheart amp, the Killer Ant. Not much of a clean tone machine, but great for Ac/Dc at speaking volume.

3. bkatx

bkatx Member

I have a Germino Masonette (25 watt 6v6, lead style plexi) and Classic 45 (JTM 45 style) and both are very pleasing at household volumes. I use a Hot Plate to knock about 8db off and I can crank them 3/4 of the way up and they are beautifully crunchy without ripping your head off. Definitely way too loud for bedroom amps though.

4. guitarjazz

guitarjazz Member

5. gixxerrock

gixxerrock Member