Big strings = BIG TONE!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by ToneRanger, Feb 20, 2006.

1. ToneRanger

ToneRanger Member

Tried something this weekend that I've thought about for quite some time...

I put 12-54 strings on my AV57RI Strat and oh boy! What a difference it made. I've been playing 10-52 for 10 years now. I made the progress from 9's really early on and haven't looked back since. Every time I go to a guitar store to check some guitars out all of them feel really cheap & weak 'cause of the thin strings.

Anyway, recently I've been thinking about going up in gauge, and grow up, basically ;) I've been playing the 10-52's for too long, I think it's time for new challenges. I bought the heavy set for just to try it out and am totally excited! I loved my guitar before but now it's a totally different monster again! I think the volume acoustically went up like 25 %! Just amazing. And I just love the feel of the strings. Yes, it's a bit hard to play but it's possible, not as hard as I'd thought. And a year from now I wont even notice it I think, the 10-52's will feel like 9's feel now I guess, totally weak & useless. I guess this is a great way to improve the strength of your hands..

Bigger strings mean bigger tone. I guess there's no doubt about it. Acoustically and plugged in, the guitar just sounds MUCH bigger. And I loved the sound before so yes, I'm a happy man right now. Gotta to try out the thicker strings with my tele as well...

2. StompBoxBlues

StompBoxBlues Member

Heh...I just went the other way and am SOOO happy.

My hands are strong, playing lots of acoustic (and electric style on acoustic as well as fingerstyle) and using 12's for a while on my strat.

So I went to 11's which didn't seem that different. Just lately my local music store was out of 11's and I took a pack of 10's.