Blackface Pro Reverb

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by 98FlySupreme, Feb 21, 2006.

1. 98FlySupreme

98FlySupreme Member

There is a '66 Pro Reverb for sale locally. My question is, how much should I be willing to pay for this amp if it is in excellent condition? If it has the Jensens, how much more should I be willing to pay than if it has the Oxfords. The issue isn't really the amp itself--I love the blackface Fender sound. But I'm not sure what the market price is right now on these things. I've noticed the amp has received very warm reviews here. Thanks.

2. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

I have a standing offer of $2200 for my exc. cond. 1965 in all original condition with jensens.

3. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

I am no expert... :moon (but)

I just purchased a 65 in real good shape. Though there were rumors about some $1200 BFPR's, I did not find any at that price (that were not toast). I checked locally, harmony, the gear mall and of course, the bay. It appears that a few have recently changed hands at about 15, I heard one went for 13 san speakers and I have seen a few listed for 18-21 but they are not moving at that price. I paid 16 after shipping.

Don't know if this is representative but I looked for almost a month before I bought mine. I was piosed to snatch a rough 68 SF until this one came along.

Three or four years ago I saw them going for 800. I think they are on the rise. Look at the BFSR, BFDR and the BFVR of the same era and they are bringing about 1G more than a pro and lets face it - the pro is all that and, in some cases, more.

15 that's my final answer.

4. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

The Pro is my favorite Fender Blackface. I sold a DR and TR, both 1965s and exc. cond. The Pro just sounded much better. Mine is near mint and sounds killer.

5. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

Here - whatch this one and see what happens.

Vintage 1967 Blackface Fender Pro Reverb

Item number: 7391872674[​IMG]

6. Blueser

Blueser Member