1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Blonde Bassman questions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by billdurham, Dec 30, 2005.

1. billdurham

billdurham Member

Hey folks...newbie here Bill Durham.
    I have a 64 Transitional Blonde Blackface Bassman with a presence control that I bought back in the 70's. OK, I'm old..sorry! The amp had a replacement Power transformer and I bought it more for the novelty than for using it as I was using a Marhsall 50 to gig with. Anyway, I just recently decided to resurrect the Bassman. I have started to refurb the amp, replaced the filters in the power supply and am replacing the trannys back to original specs. The reason for the "transitional" description is it does not match the 6G6 A or B schematic for the "blonde" bassman. The filter caps are the same as the AA-864 schematic which are 20uf 500v and two 70uf 350v caps in series on the output of the rectifier stack. Also, the 1500 ohm resistors on the grids of the finals are not on the 6G6 schematics but are on the AA-864 and are in my amp. The date codes on the caps are 6430 so it was made during the last quarter of the year probably. The AA-864 is a pretty drastic chance from the 6G6 in lots of ways.

Anyway, question is ...which input do you use for guitar...normal or bass?

thanks for any and all responses

Bill

2. RussB

RussB low rent hobbyist Silver Supporting Member

You can use either input for guitar

did someone say transitional Bassman? This one has the BF-style filter cap layout (2-70uf/350v in series) Them transitional Fenders are like a "box O' chocolates, you don't know what you'll get"

[​IMG]

3. billdurham

billdurham Member