Blonde vs. Blackface Bassman

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by chenette, Feb 3, 2008.

1. chenette

chenette Supporting Member

Hi, I'm new to vintage Fender amps. I got a '67 Fender BandMaster Head a few months ago and I really like the clean sound and use pedals for more dirt. I'd like to get something else and I've been looking at Fender Bassmans.
    I've got the chance to get a '62 Fender Bassman Head, with solid state rectifier and a period bassman replacement OT, it's retolex and they want $1000.
    Or I could get a blackface Bassman for about $500 which i've seen on the bay and around my area.
    $1000 is a bit more than I thought I would spend. Is it worth it?
    Tell me what you think and help me make a decision please.
    Thanks

2. blackba

blackba Supporting Member

Of the Bassman heads the Blonde Bassmans with the presence knob are the ones to get. For the blackface bassmans there are 3 circuits, 2 common ones the AA864 and the AB165. The AB165 has another gain stage on the normal channel which is nice, but has some strange things going on in the power amp. I modded my '67 Bassman with an AB165 to give it the AB165/AA864 (combination of both circuits).

If I could swing the money I would go for the blonde, if you get the blackface, find out what circuit it has.

3. Griz

Griz Member

Very satisfied '62 blonde Bassman owner here. It is one of the more aggressive sounding old-style amps Fender produced. Goes from sweet to screaming with your touch. I like it much better than the reissue '59 tweed.

4. 2x6L6

2x6L6 Supporting Member

I'm no Bassman expert, but own a ~'62 blonde 6G6-B - has presence knob, solid-state rectified. Great amp, but I know some folks much prefer the 6G6-A, which I believe is tube-rectified. There may be other differences as well.