Blue Chip vs Charmed Life vs Red Bear ....

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by Outlaw, Dec 22, 2017.

1. Outlaw

Outlaw Member

....picks, etc.

I’ve been using Wegen BG 1.4’s for quite a long while. I’ve never tried any of the picks listed in the thread title.

Am I missing something?

I just thought my Wegen’s were expensive ($3.75/ea) until looked at a Blue Chip ($35.00/ea).

Is there that big of a difference?

I, like many of you I’m sure, used anything that was handy when I started playing nearly 41 years ago. At some point I became fixated on Pickboy 1.0 ceramic picks, and played them almost exclusively for two decades. At some point I bought a package of four Wegen BG 1.4’s for $15.00. I really liked them, the feel, the tone, etc.

As you move up the pick food chain are the differences that noticeable? Say I move from my Wegen to an equivalent Blue Chip (size and thickness), what should I expect? I know that these pick makers are using some expensive ass materials, as I’ve done some research to try to learn about them.

I’m genuinely interested to hear from anyone who has made the leap. I do believe that there has to be some reason.

I’m not so interested to hear about your experiences with your Fender or Clayton, etc, etc, picks, I’ve used them. I’d like to keep this on topic of the brands listed.

rambleon and OddJobb like this.
  2. Justin Hitchborn

Justin Hitchborn Supporting Member

Semi-breaking the rules, but yes. I have made the leap. Not to the brands you specifically mention, but certainly comparable in terms of price, fancy materials, options, etc etc.

At first I was quite enamored, but that eventually settled into a more measured attitude. Right now they are among a variety of other picks of varying materials and thicknesses. If I were to get more into recording for release I may choose one strategically. As it stands it's more about what mood I'm in, the kind of feel, loudness and sound I want at the time.

Outlaw likes this.