Blues Deville to '59 Bassman RI upgrade?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by pics2050, Sep 26, 2006.

1. pics2050

pics2050 Member

I have a 90's Blues Deville 4x10 and have read good reviews of it and 59 Bassman RI too...does it make sense to spend money to upgrade from Deville to Bassman or do they both sound somewhat similar, especially in a gigging situation? Anyone gone through this path? So far I have no experience about the Bassman and its sound really. No complaints about Deville's tone before hearing the Bassman...

2. wsaraceni

wsaraceni Supporting Member

as much as i think the deville has a nice clean channel. i think the bassman ri is more versatile and better all around. i'd upgrade especially if you can gig with them

3. CocoTone

CocoTone Senior Member

That is eggsacktly what I did. I got rid of the Deville, and went to the Bassman. Much more versatile, nicer tones all round with good tubes. Still very loud tho!!

CT.

4. pics2050

pics2050 Member

Great comment...I have had the Deville for about 3 months and have used it once only at a gig...so I cannot really gig with it, too big and loud!! This probably means no worth upgrading and spending the money needed. About versatility...the Deville has two channels and a reverb though but I believe Bassman would sound better but if no use then...thanks for making me think here!!

5. Tankguy

Tankguy Member

I've got the Bassman LTD, my buddy has the Deville. While the Deville has a lot of redeeming characteristics, the Bassman just has more depth and texture if that makes any sense. I always hate trying to define tonal qualities of an amp. Makes me feel like I am writing a letter to Penthouse or something cheesy. I dig the Bassman, great cleans, and if you get to spin the volume up to 6 or so, beautiful break up as well. LOVES pedals...

6. pics2050

pics2050 Member

Tks for your input. Sorry for my ignorance but could you tell me what is the difference between 59 Bassman Reissue and Bassman LTD?