1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Blues improvisation over chord changes

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Tomo, Feb 14, 2009.

1. Tomo

Tomo Member

Include maybe jazz blues and beyond.

Please give any simple (less is more!) idea for blues improvisation.

I love blues so much. I see some guys are trouble or not fully enjoy soloing over blues? Repetitive? and all that.

For me... it's really important to be a great listener first. Pick one or two cds, listen to that (nothing else) for 3 months at least. Soak music with you and music will stay inside of you.. then sing them, copy them. but keep it simple. There are more ideas follow that...

By the way, I really liked Gene's comment... Hope you don't mind to paste here..Gene? Actually when I was a student at Berklee... I have spent my time with Gene... I have learned a lot from him about passion for jazz.

Thanks,

Tomo

>><<
    One of the best way to learn how to play over changes is:

1)Transcribe a simple solo on a tune. However, make sure it is a good solo. Learn to play said solo. Get it under your hands. This way, you'll know what a good solo "feels like" on your instrument.

2)Try writing out a solo using your theory knowledge and play it. This way, you'll know where you are at "brain" wise.

3)Develop your ear! Really, this is the most important on learning how to play on changes. You have to be able to hear changes before you can really play on them.

And on and on it goes. A guru told me that 50 years is the time it takes to learn how to really play. Unless of course you are a genius type, but then you wouldn't ask if you were.

2. Ang3lus

Ang3lus Member