1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Bolting on a neck

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Jimmydeez, Nov 8, 2005.

1. Jimmydeez

Jimmydeez Supporting Member

I am working on a tele project and I am about to order a nice rosewood neck from warmoth.

I was wondering if there is anything I need to worry about when screwing the neck screws in. Everything I have read just says "then screw the neck in". The holes are already there and I have the neck plate and screws. I am debating offseting the neck plate with a black rubber pad under the neck plate. I think it will look better against the natural wood.

Do I need to worry about anything? THis is my first project guitar and it is coming together very nicely so far. I might put up some pics of the body tonight.

2. Richard Guy

Richard Guy Member

Hello,

Just my .02

I would not want the rubber pad since I would be looking for a real tight fit and the rubber in between might not provide for a tight fit or best tone transfer. All the best with your project. ;)

3. Jimmydeez

Thanks Rich,

I never thought of that. I didn't figure the neck plate to neck connection might lose tone if there is a piece of rubber there. I was more worried about the neck to body connection.

4. Richard Guy

Richard Guy Member

Hello Jimmy,

I could be full of poop about it. My comment was just a thought. :cool:

5. fullerplast

fullerplast Senior Member

If it's what I think you are talking about, it's not really rubber, just a hard plastic pad designed to keep the plate from digging into the body and finish. I wouldn't worry about loss of tone from it. The most important connection is where the neck meets the body. The screws are still pulling that joint very tightly. FWIW, Tom Anderson also uses those on his guitars. I've used them on some guitars and they work just fine.