1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Boost for already high gain

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by MattB, Dec 19, 2005.

1. MattB

MattB Member

Hey Guys,

I am in the market for a boost pedal to run in front of my Mark IV. Alot of tunes we play in my band are mostly high gain (esp the leads) when I go to play a lead I usually stomp on my barber but it doesnt seem to give me a decible boost just fattens up the tone and may even take away the volume when I am on the lead channel of the amp. So what I am wondering is; what boost pedal will give me a noticable volume boost so my leads will pop out in front of the mix during a gig? I don't want to necessarily color my tone. Will a clean boost work?

I am new to boost pedals so any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
    -MattB

www.delta-whiskey.com

2. el34power

el34power Member

from my experence. It seems your input is already saturated and nothing you will put there will give you volume (same problem with my 2203).
    if you can, put something in the effects loop, barber... anything really. I use a GE7 EQ in my prowler combo. Practical to dial in the tone.

good luck

3. catalinbread

catalinbread Member

your preamp is already heated up pretty good. You may consider a clean boost in your effects loop.

4. jlagrassa

jlagrassa Supporting Member

If you have a fx loop try a clean boost pedal there it will just boost your signal and nothing else, I've had good luck using a Boss GE-7 EQ in the loop just set the EQ flat and use the Gain slider for the amount of boost!

I would suggest the Barber Launch Pad which is what I use now but not in a fx loop, The bad thing about a True Bypass pedal in the loop is the the switch could give a loud pop where as the Boss is silent switching!

5. ccoker

ccoker Supporting Member

like the others have said, you need a boost in the fx loop for more volume