Boost pedal with Rockerverb 50 MKII?!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by MrRobChappers, Feb 13, 2012.

1. MrRobChappers

MrRobChappers Member

Hey guys
    Im looking for a decent boost pedal for my Rockerverb 50 MKII (running through an Orange PPC410 Cab), I've heard that this head is a bit fussy when it comes to pedals and making them sound good or not! Its just got to be able to make the sound bigger and louder without loosing any of that amazing tone. Main use would be for guitar solos just to crank them up to the next level! I'm considering one of the Fulltone OCD Boost/Overdrive pedals and also the MXR MC 401 boost pedal but wondered what anyone has tried and the results they've obtained! Im not very experienced when it comes to setting up head/cab with pedals as this is the first non-combo amp i've had!
    Any contributions will be greatly appriciated!
    Rob

2. dramaticrunner

dramaticrunner Member

if you are using the amps distortion, a boost in front won't make it any louder. maybe a clean boost in the loop?

3. MrRobChappers

MrRobChappers Member

that sounds like a good idea, i didn't think of that!
    Do you have any recommendations on clean boost pedals then?

4. Slush

Slush Member

Go with a BB PREAMP!!!! It kicks ass on the clean and dirty channel!!! Trust me. I have been searching for a while for a pedal that sounds great with these picky amps...

The Orange takes clean boosts pretty well. But If you want a good OD pedal in front of an already distorted amp, go for the BB! You won't regret it!

I even tried the Timmy and it wasn't working for me..... It became some what fizzy with this amp....

5. tonebendermkII

tonebendermkII Member

I'm using a Suhr Koko Boost and a tonebender germanium fuzz. Works alright.

6. fuzzrise

fuzzrise Member