• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

"Boost" pedals...I don't get it...

Noah

Gold Supporting Member
I've been a working/gigging musician for over 20 years and( just can't understand boost pedals. I can't think of a single time when I've wanted to boost my guitar sound just to make it louder, unless it was to add overdrive and sustain for solos.
The boost pedals I've tried don't seem to do a good job of that ...only making things louder or just barely adding some gain, but not enough for fluid soloing.

I've tried dozens of overdrive pedals with a boost function and a few different independent boosts as well, and I just can't figure out a use for them. I usually end up selling them off or just turning the "boost" down all the way so I don't turn it on by accident. Can someone please explain how they use a boost? I must be doing something wrong since they are so popular. (i run a clean amp using ODs for gain and have never wanted to boost my normal rhythm sound...think it would make a crappy lead tone)

Last edited:

Dubious

personally i prefer to hit my pedals with a compressor - old script bottom dynacomp set to a slight volume boost / sustain to taste.

For "soloing" this adds a bit of grit but more importantly it adds sustain. I like that it just pushes a pedal into the next gear.

TheoDog

Silver Supporting Member
The art of the guitar volume knob is fading. Less refined players simply turn everything up on the guitar and pick and choose pedals for various textures. That's why we see "2nd or 3rd stage drive" and "always on tone sweeteners" and the "clean lead boost."

I think maturity is accompanied with simplicity.

I will temper that by saying I use a Rat into a Katana mini.