Boosting a pedal...possible damage?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by leodiditright, Feb 29, 2008.

1. leodiditright

leodiditright Supporting Member

Please tell me you tech wiz guys, if using a booster in front of another pedal could stress his components, and yield to a premature failure.
    For example, very often I'm putting my Lovepedal Balance before my Lovepedal Lo Driver or my Dumb Bell to help them sing, I love the tone, but is it good for the pedals who get boosted??

2. sandman

sandman Member

Yeah, I got GREAT results slammin' my Tim with SCP but dunno if that's recommended...

3. thisfire

thisfire Supporting Member

I'm no expert, but I've never heard/read that stacking pedals reduces their lives. Perhaps if the pedal is tube-driven (some tremolos and OD's), but even then I wouldn't expect anything to go wrong.

4. leodiditright

5. nibus

nibus Supporting Member

This can be bad from some effects, like delay for example. The Timefactor has a clipping LED for this very reason.

You can definitely mess up analog delays doing this too, but it has to be a pretty loud signal.

As for overdrives, I doubt you could damage anything by boosting. On the contrary, it adds more gain and harmonics so i would say go for it!

6. Montez

Montez Member

I good rule of thumb is not to exceed 2 volts RMS (appx 6 volts peak to peak swing) to be on the safe side.

7. spentron

spentron Member

I would avoid using a pedal intended to put out over 9 volts, at high settings, into a 9 volt pedal. Examples are boost pedals with >9 volt internal supplies such as Keeley Katana, Barber Launch Pad. Even then it should be OK in most cases but if you don't want to have to analyze the circuits .... A lot of devices that are not clean boosts, such as rack gear, also run on higher voltage but aren't intended to put out a huge level when set normally.