Boss Pitch Shifter or Harmonist???

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Rossl, Sep 25, 2006.

1. Rossl

Rossl Member

I recently bought a PS5 (super pitch shifter). I am still learning how to use it. I wanted something to fatten up the sound maybe use octaves. I have used the detune feature and the pedal has some potential for harmonies. Although it is a very digital sound I like it because it gives the guitar a synth like quality, good for fusion tunes. It's definatley not a pedal for blues purists :) (I do like the blues, I just wouldn't use this pedal for that)

I have read that some folks like the PS3 or the HR better than the PS5.

Anyone here have any opinions to share?

2. Moe45673

Moe45673 Member

The PS-5 is an excellent pedal, IMO. The trick to dialing it in is to keep the harmonized signal quieter than the dry signal, for more natural sounding harmonies.

I love the T. Arm feature. For my needs, it negates the option of an exp. pedal.

The HR-2 does intelligent harmony exactly the same as the PS-5, except it allows you to add 2 voices as opposed to the 1 on the PS-5. It also has a direct in for more accurate tracking post-distortion, but this involves splitting your original guitar signal.

The PS-3, which I've never tried, can get some really weird, out there, spacey sounds, but then again, the PS-5 can do things that its predecessor cannot. I can't help you out more than this, mayhap someone else can!

3. nashvillesteve

nashvillesteve Member

I like the HR-2, but I'm still not getting string trio sounds with the ebow like I thought I would be able to... Still great for weird noises. I like spinning the knobs and confusing it as well. The detuned sound is good for making a double-tracked or chorused type sound.

4. Uma Floresta

Uma Floresta Senior Member