Boss RC-2 looper owners - some pointers needed

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by MartinC, Sep 28, 2008.

1. MartinC

MartinC Member

Just bought myself an RC-2. I'm a newbie to the world of loopers.

I was trying the pedal out for the first time last night and couldn't figure something out. I read the manual but still no luck. So here I am ... :huh

Using the "Auto" mode I was able to record and overdub a loop that included several measures (4/4 bars). No problem ...:phones

Using the normal record/playback/overdub mode (indicated by a black circle and an arrow pointing to the right on the mode knob) I couldn't do the same thing ... :dunno

Here's what I was doing:
    • First I picked a drum pattern and set the tempo.
    • Next I set the mode knob to the normal record/playback/overdub position
    • Then I pressed the pedal to start recording. What I found happening was the RC-2 would record for 1 measure, then repeat that first measure whilst I continued recording measure 2. During measure 3 I could hear what I'd recorded in both measures 1 and 2. And so it went on ... whatever I played was just added to a stack of single recorded measures. By measure 12, I could hear 12 recordings all playing simultaneously.
    • Next I pressed the pedal to stop recording ... and erased what I had recorded by holding the pedal down for 2+ seconds.
    I tried the above a few times (following what I think the manual says to do ... on pages 13-15). I even tried selecting a different, empty phrase track to clear out any recording that I thought I may have done accidentally. Still no luck. I really want to use the regular (non-Auto) recording mode 'cos the Auto mode means I'm going to have to play something right at the beginning of the first measure to kick off the recording ... and I mightn't want that.

Can any experienced RC-2 owners give me some pointers?