Bought a Plimsoul yesterday, do I need it?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Mike Duncan, Feb 25, 2012.

1. Mike Duncan

Mike Duncan Staff Member

I've been using an OCD V3 for the past four years with no real complaints. I bought the Plimsoul yesterday and am really enjoying the tones - but just how more complex or different is it than the OCD? I hear some familiar tones in both. Anyone with any history - keeping in mind, I've only been allowed to go at bedroom volumes since last night.

Thanks!

2. antbosca

antbosca Member

I've been using the OCD a few years and really like it too. I got a Plimsoul a few months ago and have kept it. I like it, use, it, but it hasn't replaced the OCD or the Kalamazoo. It's got some great sounds and a LOT of gain. It wants to be pretty loud is my sense about it. You'll need to get above bedroom volumes to really assess the pedal.

3. Mike Duncan

Mike Duncan Staff Member

I'm going to crank it tomorrow.

4. yerbluesrob

yerbluesrob Supporting Member

No, you don't need it. You should give it to me.

5. Mike Duncan

Mike Duncan Staff Member

Ha! There's one in every thread.

6. Dave

Dave Member

I've been using an OCD for years and recently picked up a Plimsoul. I like the OCD better for my crunch/rhythm and use the Plimsoul for leads. The Plimsoul has more mids and sounds better at higher gain settings. The Plimsoul has some crackle when notes decay. It's not bad, but my OCD decays smoothly, which is another reason I prefer it as on OD.

7. macmax77

macmax77 Supporting Member

No, you don't need it!
    We know now u bought one, but again, u don't need it :D

8. coralreefer

coralreefer Senior Member

Bought a Plimsoul yesterday, do I need it?

A...little...late...for...that....question!

9. GarMan

GarMan Supporting Member

I tried out a plimsoul yesterday for about 30 minutes, and I noticed this as well. Some high end fizzyness on the decaying notes.

10. Rock Steady

Rock Steady Member