Brian Setzer prefers dead strings - his tech never changes them.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by WordMan, Apr 14, 2019.

1. WordMan

WordMan Member

I got the latest Guitar Player - Brian Setzer, Molly Tuttle, reviews of the Greg Koch sig and Fender acoustasonic Tele; seemed worth it. BS’s tech is interviewed and shares that they realized Brian prefers dead strings years ago. The strings on his main 6120 have 70 gigs on them :eek:

Heresy! Sacrilege! Meh!

I kill strings dead with my sweat so had to learn to pick guitars that sound good with dead strings ;) Nice to know I’m in good company.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
    Dale, transmaniac, bluesoul and 3 others like this.
  2. porcytree

porcytree Member

Grant Nicholas ( Feeder ) also does this on his Jazzmasters

TBH, I have a Jazzmaster that I really like the tone of but recently I felt that it was time to change the strings ( they'd been on for around 3 months or so ). Since changing the stings it seems overly bright to me so I clearly like "dead" strings too.

Weird though, I can't stand the sound of "old" strings on my LP or Tele ( I change these as soon as I notice a "dulling" of the tone )

Bieling3, dani_boy79 and fretless like this.
  3. fretless

fretless Silver Supporting Member

Finally something I have in common with a legend!

Seriously though I change my strings 3 times a year tops. First of all my hands aren’t even slightly sweaty or acidic, so the strings have zero funk. Lastly I hate zingy super bright tones. I only change them when they have tuning issues.

bandmaster, guff, eriwebnerr and 20 others like this.
  4. WordMan

WordMan Member

Oh, sure, parade it around ;)

5. cram

cram Member

yeah,..I've let it go too long on the guitar. I still play and enjoy, but fret indentations on the strings are what pushes me into the task of changing strings.