Broken-in resonance?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by PaulS2, May 19, 2008.

1. PaulS2

PaulS2 Member

I'm a fan of guitars which are broken-in and where everything vibrates together - a smooth rich resonance which comes across acoustically and through the pick-ups. The guitar vibrates as one.

I've only found this on well-played guitars ....and which have been played for 10-15 years. I've been playing for about 4 years so there is much for me to see and learn.

So the question is.....this smooth played-in resonance - can it be built into guitars? Are there builder who can capture this sort of 'everything vibrating together' feel or is it just something which comes from playing a guitar over and over again...and eventually it sounds and plays as one?

I've picked up many custom shop LPs and PRSi and can feel that potential there which will materialize in a a number of years of playing but none having that feel right from the start.

So, am I just not picking up and playing the 'right' guitars or is this the way it is......in about 10 or 15 years of steady playing the wood will finally soften up a little and be broken-in?

By the way, I'm not refering to the reliced finish which can be bought from Fender.

Thanks...your opinion and experience is valued and appreciated.

2. Trebor Renkluaf

Trebor Renkluaf I was hit by a parked car, what's your excuse? Gold Supporting Member

I know of accoustic guys who set their gutiars in front of their stereo speakers (when they're not playing) so that the music vibrates the gutiars. I even heard of one guy taping hiw guitar to the speaker and letting it rip!

I think the better builder are picky about their wood selection, and can use techniques that make the gutiar feel like it's been played on. That said I think all will agree that there is no substitue for actuall playing time to get a gutiar to open up.

3. PaulS2

PaulS2 Member