Bruno UG30-What a wonderful amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by tclardy, Jul 28, 2005.

1. tclardy

tclardy Member

I recently purchased my Bruno UG30 head with reverb here from our very own tradarama.

I am very happy with the purchase to say the least. Oh man this is a sweet amp.

I have been playing through a Carr Rambler for the past two years. A wondeful amp in it's own right. But I had heard a couple of Brunos at the Dallas guitar show and knew I had to have one.

I looked for quite a while and finally got this one. I didn't spend big money on a cabinet. I bought an Avatar 2x12 with one G12H30 and a Blue. It sounds fantastic. Chimey cleans, nice distorted tones. Very punchy and articulate.

This amp is great with pedals too. I have not found one pedal out of my Tim, Ocd, Katana, and Keeley 808 that it doesn't love. Turn on the Java boost and it is Brian May type distortion.

You guys on this forum must have some killer amps from seeing your posts. I know the guy that sold me this had something he liked better, must be a killer amp cause this one sure is.

Thanks,
    Tim:p

2. cold_fusion

cold_fusion Suspended

So, how 'bout an A vs B comparison of the UG30 and the Rambler?...Bruno vs Carr!!!!
    tia

3. tclardy

tclardy Member

The Carr is pretty much blackface fender on the 28 watt setting and maybe a little darker on the 14 watt setting. Extremely nice clean on the high setting. Stays clean pretty loud. Needs pedals to get nasty. Lightweight. A real pedal Whore!

My dislikes are it is flabby and loose on the bottom and I am kind of burned out on the Fender clean tone. Everyone here in DFW seems to play on one.

I don't know what category to put the Bruno in. Chimier, much tighter on the bottom. Gets nice and dirty the more you turn the volume up. I love the way you can just use the volume to go from chimey clean to nice breakup. Works just as well as the Carr with pedals.