BSIAB 2 vs MI Audio Crunch Box - need to make a decision very soon

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Bad G.A.S., Aug 20, 2008.

1. Bad G.A.S.

Bad G.A.S. Senior Member

90% sure I'm taking the Vox Satchurator back tomorrow, so I'm likely gonna order either an MI AUdio Crunch Box or BSIAB 2...The BSIAB is only 60 bucks, and my girlfriend's Dad is gonna help me solder it and put it together (I have no electronics experience)...If I can spend less and get better tone I certainly will, but I'd like to hear some opinions on these two pedals, and see if there is a general consensus of which one is better for delivering a better high gain, amp-like tone. Thanks

2. serviviente7

serviviente7 Supporting Member

no contest here for me. BSIAB all the way...its does the crunch box sound and more.

3. Bad G.A.S.

Bad G.A.S. Senior Member

Did you build it yourself? I've heard there are some mods you can do to make it better than what is outlined in the instructions...

4. FLYING V 83

FLYING V 83 Pedal Trading Guru Silver Supporting Member

Put lower gain MF102 FETs in Q1 & Q2 and you'll have a much more versatile pedal, not as compressed and a more usable gain range. Still plenty of gain on tap but better.

5. Bad G.A.S.

Bad G.A.S. Senior Member

Cool, where do I find those and how much do they cost? (Not sure what FET's are! Sorry!)

6. FLYING V 83

FETs are the transistors that come with the kit. I believe the BSIAB2 uses all 2N5457s (5 in all) so if you replace Q1 & 2 with the MF102s you'll get slightly lower gain but more highs & less compression.
    Radio Shack should have them, or online like Mouser or Pedal Parts Plus.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  7. Peeb

Peeb Member

Those are EXACTLY the two pedals that have my eye right now. Both sound great to my ear.

8. FLYING V 83

If you don't want to chance building it yourself, just give Chad at CMATMODS a call
    and get his Brownie with the "fr8_trane" mods.