Budda reliability

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by lv, Jun 26, 2005.

1. lv

lv Supporting Member

Thinking about picking up a Superdrive, curious if anyone has one and has had any reliability issues. Reading the HC reviews (and I do take them with a grain of salt) there seem to be a lot of problems with the Superdrives.

Thanks

2. Tonal Comfort

Tonal Comfort Supporting Member

I've had an early numbered hand-wired PTP Superdrive 30 for over 4 years now with absolutely no reliability issues. My only complaints are that: 1) It does run very very hot (I cooked an EL-84 at a jam last week) and 2) The volume on the drive channel is much lower than that of the clean channel (I understand that Budda offers a mod to correct this issue). I rarely use the drive channel and tend to set the clean channel for a bit of dirt and use pedals for overdrive.

Other than that, I think it's a great amp and it takes pedals very well. I've had no experience with the PCP Superdrives that are currently being made.

3. teefus

teefus Silver Supporting Member

i used a sd18 model II for a couple of years. i had issues with the volume settings as previously mentioned. i had to replace the rectifier socket but that was probably due to the previous owner being a doof. no reliability issues though. i decided after using it for a year that it didn't sound very "tubey" for lack of a better description. it sounded flat and lifeless compared to my rivera bm60 and modded pv c20.

4. jeffh

jeffh Silver Supporting Member

I have an early Series 1 that I bought used from a forum member. I gig with it weekly and have had no problems at all.

I will echo the unbalanced volume thing. I use a two amp setup so it's not a problem but it would be tough to channel switch it live.

5. buddastrat

buddastrat Member