Budda SD-18 = too much gain?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Gasp100, Apr 8, 2008.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Silver Supporting Member

I'm not sure about this amp at all. I've heard some decent clips but they do seem a bit dark, compressed and "heavy" for lack of a better word. I have my master list of Voxy/Marshally amps that I'm keeping an eye out for and I have some trade bait as well. So, it makes it tough to thread the needle sometimes.
    Anyway, are my perceptions wrong that this black and purple amp is more of just a high(er) gainer 2 channel puppy with a lot of "nice to haves" but not quite enough simple, clean character. I guess for comparison I'm consider used Top Hat, Vox, Goodsell, Fender, Valvetech Haysee, Suhr Badger, etc... I just get the feeling this one is closer to my old Rivera Fandango than the others listed. The Rivera was a GREAT jack of all trades, but I did not jive with the gain channel. Thoughts?

2. schaljo

schaljo LEGEND

Imo, the Budda is the most versatile of the bunch. The od channel is somewhat dark and compressed but not exactly what I'd call "heavy" Spend some time with one and I think you'll love it. With a strat it is absolutely "killer" Stellar with a 'paul'

3. oacikgoz

oacikgoz Member

Yes Budda is dark when all knobs show 12 o'clock :) and I love it. But, the range for EQ is quite large and by turning up mids and treble, you can get a much brighter tone. Also Modern switch brightens the amp QUITE a bit, most people use it with modern switch engaged. I was skeptical about using it cause I'm more of a vintage tone freak but then I realized you can get vintage tones with the modern switch too.

And Yes Budda is heavy, but it's not at the same time. Clean channel, when preamp is at noon-2pm gives you great mild crunch tone similar to Vox but a tad darker. Boosting that with a TS would give you great bluesy solo tones, without a boost it nails AC/DC Back in Black if you like that kind of tone.