Budda Twinmaster - Unusual Hum, need help...

dragonfly66

I have a 1996 Budda Twinmaster 2x10 combo. When I turn it on it there is a loud hum when nothing is plugged in. If I plug my guitar into the "Normal" input the amp is quiet with the usual shhhhh sound. If I plug my guitar into the "Hi Gain" input the hum doesn't go away. So really the "Hi Gain" input is unusable.

I'm guessing that when I plug my guitar into the normal input that the guitar cable is grounding the circuit and that is why the hum goes away. The hi gain input is not grounding the circuit (maybe it should) and that is why I still hear the loud hum when plugged into that input.

The filter caps have been replaced on this amp recently in hopes it would remove the hum, but it did not. I thought maybe other tech savvy people would know or other owners of Twinmasters could tell me if this was normal behavior or not. Any help understanding what might be happening is appearciated.

Here is the 1 page manual, http://www.budda.com/resources/twinmaster_manual.pdf.

THE TWINMASTER AMP
BY
BUDDA AMPLIFICATION​

SUGGESTED OPERATING SETTINGS:

Hi Gain/Normal Inputs:
There are two inputs that access different gain structures from the TwinMaster. This particular design circuit is a cascade front end drive circuit, therefore you can only access one input at a time. The Normal input has slightly dininished gain and has a tone reminiscent of an early Fender black face Deluxe. Sweet and smooth, this input is great for power chords, rhythm and slide. The Hi Gain input is designed for maximum distortion and is reminiscent of a hybrid Plexi Marshall/Ac 30 combo.

Bass & Treble Controls:
Depending on whether or not you use single coils or humbuckers, 2x12's, 4x12's, etc., you will find the treble control likes to sit between 12 o'clock and 4 and the bass control between 10 O'clock and 2. Feel free to experiment. There are no rules when finding your tone!

Volume: