budget/entry level recording setup

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by ganon, Sep 2, 2005.

1. ganon

ganon Member

I have been playing guitar for about 20 years and have all the vintage guitars and amps and figure the next step would be to get into the whole computer home recording thing and wanted advice on a user friendly budget recording system. I have a new Dell Laptop and want to know what the best software/sounds card/mics I would need to get started. I just have lots of songs I would like to lay down and also just to swap tracks and record simple tracks for the internet. Basically I want a digital 4 track! Would like advice as to a good entry level budget setup, a single good mic for vocals and guitar, and what soundcard/interface/software to go with. I am a little overwhelmed looking now, and would like some ideas of what to go with. I have been reading past threads and doing searches, but there is just so much out there. Also if anyone knows of any other good websites with home recording info for beginners would be great too! I plan I picking up equipment a little at a time but would like to stay under $1,000 if possible. Not looking for studio quality but easy to use with good results. Basically I just want to lay down a rythmn track, then a lead, and some vocals for now. And later would like to add bass and drums. Is the mbox or similar setup what I am looking for? Thanks again for helping out a newbie!

2. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

I just got an email from one of the pro audio dealers who has the M-Box on sale for $279. I deleted the email though.

Or you can wait for the M-Box 2.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MBox2/

Add some headphones and a sm57 mic and you're good to go.

3. covert

covert Member

Mbox isn't bad, for the application you're describing. If you want to be able to do drums, you're going to need more inputs eventually. Start small, stay as small as possible.

4. jaycee

jaycee Member