Buffer question:

iama

Hi, here's a question. I'm thinking of getting a stand alone buffer for my pedal board. I don't even know if I need one but the arguments are pretty compelling.

If I have a buffered pedal, ala Boss, would that cover the buffer issue? Would I need more than that? Am I just looking to spend $? Is this even important?

Looking for a better way....

Jim Marciano

Silver Supporting Member
I'm not an expert or anything but I think it depends on how big your board is and if your happy with your sound or not, some people with big boards will run a buffer or buffered pedal at the beginning and end, but if it's small I would think a boss probably covers it

nnnnnn

I'm thinking of getting a stand alone buffer for my pedal board. I don't even know if I need one but the arguments are pretty compelling.
What problem(s) do you have with your existing setup?

What is your existing setup?

Blue-moon

Gold Supporting Member
I love playing through a buffer, even when I am not playing through a board. Just adds some sparkle and immediacy to my pick attack. I've tried a few buffers. They all work great, but they are different.

meterman

Try running direct to your amp, then through your board with everything off. If you notice a significant loss of clarity, punch, sparkle etc you may want to add a buffer. With buffers, the earlier in the chain the more signal you preserve. Having one anywhere in the chain will help though, and at the end is useful for driving the signal to your amp.

All that said, I dont have a standalone buffer and don't really feel the need for one

mabinogeon

A really hoopy frood.
Gold Supporting Member
Personally, I have a buffered pedal at the front of my board (a Boss TU-2 tuner), and one at the end of my board (TrueTone H20 V3). The six pedals in between are true bypass. 30' of coil cable from guitar to board and 20' of standard cable from the board to the amp.