Build my own amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by GAD, Aug 28, 2008.

1. GAD

GAD Wubbalubbadubdub Silver Supporting Member

I'm thinking I'd like to build my own amp.

I've got 30 years of soldering experience, I know the difference between a good solder joint and a cold solder joint. I have very nice soldering gear and know how to use it. I have built many other things including high-voltage nixie tube clocks, so I know the dangers.

So are there any well regarded kits or open source plans out there? Ideally I'd like a kit that has all the parts already, but if I need to scrounge up some NOS components that can be half the fun.

Thanks,

GAD

2. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

I've heard good things about: Allen Amps kits, Mission, Mojo and SDG Vintage now offers kits, too.

3. Tripower455

Tripower455 Member

Do it, it's easy and fun...

There are lots of kits......

If you like Marshall, it's hard to beat Metropoulos (they may seem expensive at first blush, but you'd have a hard time sourcing the same quality parts for less).

The GDS 18 watt is also a great kit if that's the way you want to go.

Hiwatt, Vintage Hiwatt Restorations.... Same as above. All top quality parts and I defy you to find them for less......

Fender, I've never built one, but I am sure that there are a bunch of good ones.

Ceriatone kits are great too.

The Weber kits are not bad, but are often not close to the original schematic/layout, and some of the parts leave a little to be desired. They can definitely yield a usable amp though......

I've built several amps, both from kits and from scratch, and i can tell you that the kit is the way to go. It saves 10 different shipping charges and scrounging for parts, not to mention delaying the build because you forgot a $.12 resistor on the last 3 Mouser orders!

4. Structo

Structo Member

+1 on a kit.

Like the other guys said, what style of amp do you want?
    Fender or Marshall?

Brown Note also sells kits.