Building a 2X12 cab - opinions needed on design

brewhound

I’m a noob to cabs, but I want to build my own 2X12 anyway. I know that by the time I factor in the time it takes, any economy from doing it myself will be lost, but this way it’s a lot easier to fly under the wife’s radar until I have to buy the speakers for it at the end. Plus, it’ll be fun.

Anyway, I want to build a front ported / detuned style cab – it’ll be closed back, fairly deep, and have a couple pretty large ports. I plan on making it about 14 inches deep, but I’m also considering 16 inches for convenience because I can get 0.75 X 16 inch wide nice edge-glued pine boards at Lowes that I think would make excellent top, bottom & side panels. The baffle and back will be 0.75 inch thick birch plywood.

I’ve come up with two different baffle designs, shown below. One is based loosely on the Freda 2X12, and the other is something I came up with using a 24 X 24 square that’s intended to be sort of a mini-4X12. The larger circles shown are the speaker perimeters (cutouts will be slightly smaller diameter), and the smaller holes are open ports. The surface area of the rectangular ports is approximately equal to the area of the 6 inch diameter circles for the square design. I used 6 inches because that’s the largest port tube that parts express sells to make a nice finished appearance (I would just cut off most of the “tube”). For the rectangular ports I would just wrap the tolex.

I’m looking for opinions on what possible sound differences there would be between these designs assuming the cab volumes are roughly equal. I’m curious about whether speaker arrangement and port shape makes much difference in terms of sound dispersion and spread. I would like full, punchy sound but with a nice wide, relatively even soundstage in front of the cab rather than the directional beam of a pure closed-back design. I want it to sound “big”.