Building a pedalboard..advice?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by jrm, Jul 28, 2006.

1. jrm

jrm Member

Hey guys:

So it is time, I am finally goign to build myself a pedalboard. It may sound superflouous as I only have 4 pedals or so, but I was hoping for some advice as I am a totla noob to the subject.

I have 4 pedals, (ts9, de-7, vox 847, Tu-2) and I am having an a/b/c/d box built bery soon (hopefully). I would also like to incorporate my wireless system into the board (some sennheiser unit). One thing that i have seen that I think is the cats pajamas is the way that some folks have wired their boards to have input and power jacks on the side. I think that really helps keep the board maintain a clena look. However, I have no idea how to do this.

Can anyone point me towards any tutorials, or plans/blueprints for other boards that have been built to help me get going in the right direction?

thanks!

2. Digitalman

Digitalman Member

This thread was good too : http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=144651

I'm in the middle of building one myself - you could probably spend a couple days in the 'show us your pedalboard' thread - endless ideas in there. I've got it built and have all the George Ls, Neutrik 1/4" jacks, etc...But I'm holding off drilling the holes and wiring it up until the last pedal shows up. (Timmy)

I'll start a kind of step by step thread when it's done like Den and Selahvie did - I especially found those threads helpful. The first thing I did was find a case to put it in, then designed the board to fit inside of it. I have six pedals and a Pedal Power 2 and got all of it to fit inside a 17" X 12" footprint. Set all your pedals up to test the ergonomics and all - I built a little foam-core mock up to see if they'd fit OK. I'm a designer, so I sit here and do CAD all day long - I've spent more time on the layout than I spent cutting plywood. If you can draw it out first, it'll help.