Burstbucker question.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Ides of March, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Ides of March

Ides of March Member

If this is in the wrong forum I apologize, I have a 98 Gibson les paul studio stock with 490/498's in it. I really like the sound of them but I was also interested in putting in Burstbuckers in their place. Can anyone give me pro's and con's in reference to this. Would it be worth changing them out.
    Thanks.

2. Birddog

Birddog Member

I'm no pickup expert, but I have the 490/498's in my Studio, and the Burstbucker Pro's in my Standard. They're both excellent. To my ear, the Burstbuckers are a bit crisper and cut through the mix a bit better though I wouldn't say "hotter" by any stretch of the imagination. The 490/498 combination is a little better for clean or jazzy stuff, to my ear. Both are very responsive to raising and lowering and you can get a variety of tones just by doing that, but I've never heard the edge out of the 490/498's that I get out of the BB's when playing rock.

All that said, a nice compromise (again, in my non-expert opinion) is the 57 Classics. I have those in a Classic Antique, and they seem like the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps.

3. AndrewSimon

AndrewSimon Member

Do you like more of a vintage tone?
    Do you like low output?
    Do you like a little more bite?... a little more like single coil tone?
    Not big warm round tone?

:)

4. stuagu

stuagu Member

gibsons pickups vary an awful lot, ive heard really great classic 57's & ive heard really boring ones & im sure with gibsons quality control (& that really is a contradiction in terms) the bb's vary in the same manner.
    lindy fralin make the best "mass produced" pick ups imo, theyre better than bare knuckle/di/duncans etc...
    but if youre really set on bb's then go for it & i hope u find a good set.:)

5. RJM/rydog2223

RJM/rydog2223 Member