• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

...but it's Japanese

groundmeat

Why is this a thing now? Suddenly if it says "Made in Japan" on it, that somehow makes it special. Perhaps the quality of certain Japanese made guitars have improved lately, but I'm noticing this trend in the used market as well. Pedals that no one was wowed by in the old days are going for higher prices just because they were made in Japan.

Case in point. I'm browsing the Guitar Center site and I come across this 1991 Ibanez RG that's supposedly made in Japan. There's nothing particularly special about it. I'm no expert on classic Ibanez guitars, but from looking at the back of it, the neck is not one piece. It's got a scarf joint kinda like my 90's Joe Satriani signature, with the retainer bar and locking nut that bolts down from the rear of the neck, headstock is straight, not angled.

So perhaps they have it mislabeled and it's not a Japanese Ibanez, but if it is, then almost nothing makes this guitar more special than a Korean made model from that period. Perhaps a bridge made out of steel rather than zinc or something would be an improvement over a Korean model, but that doesn't give me a reason to desire a Japanese Ibanez from the 90's any more than Korean one. A bridge can be replaced easily.

I've mentioned it elsewhere, but I have a 1984 BC Rich Mockingbird NJ (Nagano Japan) and it's a pretty horrible guitar. There is no reason to respect the craftsmanship of that ugly thing. I wouldn't use it as a canoe paddle much less as a musical instrument.

So... what's the deal with the whole Japanese thing? Comments, facts, expert analysis?

Yamaha 350