buying a guitar online

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by thesjkexperienc, Aug 6, 2008.

1. thesjkexperienc

thesjkexperienc ^^^ I made this guitar^^^

I have never done this before, but an online dealer has a hard to find model that I am interested in, and I am not sure what to ask to, hopefully, assure a great guitar.

All ideas are appreciated.

2. GregoryL

GregoryL Supporting Member

Ask for an approval period.

If it's one of the big three - tele, strat, LP ... I ask for the exact weight.

If used, ask about blemishes, repairs, etc. I'm comfortable with most blemishes and some repairs ... I just want to know about them up front.

3. nmiller

nmiller Drowning in lap steels Silver Supporting Member

Absolutely; no verbal or written description can compare with actually holding and playing a guitar. Most upscale online dealers (of new instruments, at least) offer some sort of approval period, even if it's only 24 hours.

4. thesjkexperienc

thesjkexperienc ^^^ I made this guitar^^^

The good news is they do have a 24 hour trial, but i owe shipping both ways and 3% of the sales cost if returned. That will be around $125 if it isnt just right :( I just thought maybe if I use a debit card I can get the 3% waved? The 3% is credit card charge that the store will lose if I return it.

5. nmiller

nmiller Drowning in lap steels Silver Supporting Member

If you're not in a rush, paying by check or money order will probably avoid that 3% fee. As for shipping costs, there's no real way around that other than to find a local dealer (in which case you'd have to pay sales tax if you keep the guitar).

I'm currently purchasing a guitar, with a trial period, and my personal philosophy is that I'd rather spend $$ in 2-way shipping than be stuck paying $$$$ for a guitar that I don't want.

6. XKnight

XKnight Member