buying a macbook, should i buy logic express?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by jaxonmills, Jan 8, 2008.

1. jaxonmills

jaxonmills Member

the computer alone costs $999, logic express is $179 more. is it worth it or should i save my money and use garageband?

2. usc96

usc96 Member

I bought Logic Express, but I've been using garageband for everything. I'm new to Apple and recording though.

3. getbent

getbent Member

start with gb.

4. jaxonmills

jaxonmills Member

does garageband work well with presonus and motu firewire interfaces? are projects from garageband able to be imported to logic or other programs?

5. bluesman

bluesman Member

Just got into recording with my Macbook Pro and thought I'd buy Logic Express but decided to start with GarageBand and see how it went. It's been enough for me to this point.

I'd recommend starting off with GB and it may give you all you need for now. You can always buy Logic Express down the road.

6. the_Chris

the_Chris It's All Been Done Before Gold Supporting Member

That's been my feelings as well.

I'm happy enough with GB for what I'm doing right now. When I have the spare money and time, I'll experiment with Logic, but right now I'm saving every penny I can for mics, a FW-recording interface, quality monitors and interconnects.

7. dognmoon

dognmoon Supporting Member

You might hang tight until next week. Tuesday (1/15) is the next big Apple announcement at MacWorld San Francisco and you might be able to get your Macbook at a better price (or an upgrade for the the same price as you'd get today...)

8. dewey decibel

dewey decibel Member

we eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer
    If you're just starting out I say stick with Garageband. It's easy to use, fun, but still deep enough to do some things. Plus Logic 8 has been reveamped and makes more sense coming from a Garageband background now, so if you decide to uprgrade later it will be an easier transition.