Buying a small apartment in Manhattan

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by JohnSykes, Jan 2, 2017.

1. JohnSykes

JohnSykes Member

Hi guys. Im a long time forum user, but i dont think i ever posted on this section.

So my father and i have been discussing buying a small apartment in NY. Im not from USA but i do have european citizenship, but not going into all the legal details (YET), just looking for some real state information.
    Basically our idea was buying something in the 300k range, that we could rent for all the year but a month or something like that, so we could go there as well and enjoy christmas for example.

Like i said, im going blind here, i dont really know anything about NY real state market, prices or how "real" the situation would be (i mean the whole renting it for the year).

Anyway thanks, i appreciate.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  2. FFOGG

FFOGG Fat Frustated Old Guy w/ Gut Gold Supporting Member

I'm not an expert since it's been over 30 years since I lived there but your looking at a minimum of 700 to 800 K one bedroom in Harlem ...800 k for a studio in Manhatten try looking in New Jersey or Brooklyn

QRSS likes this.
  3. alexanderplatz

alexanderplatz Member

Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
    wilto likes this.
  4. Staggerlee

Staggerlee Member

$300K in Manhattan?

Hahahahahahahbahahahababababbabababhahahahahahahhahahahahhahahahhahahahha

Now on a serious note, you cannot possibly rent out an apartment for 11 months out of the year and expect that the tenant will move out for a month so you can get to enjoy your apartment. The renter rights in NYC are very strict and all leases are usualy 1 year. Best of luck, but I gurantee you you won't find an apartment in that range unless it is in the ghetto.

cj_wattage and fretless like this.
  5. Guitar Josh

Guitar Josh Resident Curmudgeon

If you want to buy an apartment in Manhattan for 300k you are going to need a time machine or a delorean.

cj_wattage, FFOGG, bgmacaw and 5 others like this.