buying gear

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by macmax77, May 26, 2008.

1. macmax77

macmax77 Supporting Member

i see most of you guys buying gear and changing it a lot.

When you buy an amp/speaker/etc, what are you specifically looking for?
    Do you buy because you have heard someone who you think sounds good?

I am asking because i think the min problem is that some people buy the gear, but cannot buy the player.

Can you guys play?

2. remocity

remocity Supporting Member

You have 2071 posts and your asking this question now?

3. derekd

derekd Supporting Member

Interesting question with a barb at the end. I will ignore the barb, as I think the question is good. I have been playing for around 30 years, mostly rock/blues stuff. I played in cover bands for a number of years doing the club thing.

I studied classical guitar for a couple years and worked up enough material to do an hour lunch gig many years back. I have been playing in churches for as long as I have been playing guitar. Choral stuff with orchestral type charts, and simple lead sheets for covering secular and rock stuff.

I currently play occassionally in a jazz ensemble context, and have a weekly solo jazz guitar gig. For me, playing in lots of different settings has warranted different instruments and different gear. Couple that with the fact that I get tired of my sound every few years, and that alone would initiate gear change.

Further complicating this is my continued evolution as a player and what I am looking for in my sound. Much of this gear is not readily available at the local GC, so in order to experiment means you need to own it. Does that cover it?

4. kurtsstuff

kurtsstuff Member

Because I can and yes

5. Noah

Noah Member

I can't play at all, but I love to buy cool looking gear. When I bring hot girls back to my place, they always freak out on all the crazy guitar stuff I have. Works like a charm!
    :BEER

6. rhinocaster

rhinocaster Supporting Member