calling all TopHat Club Royale users...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by TREV FLINT, May 29, 2008.

1. TREV FLINT

TREV FLINT Member

I could really use some help dialing in dirty tones on my Royale. I find that when I push the volume and get some grit going on that I really get a fierce "ice pick" going on as well as a "sizzle". Playing power chords sounds great but bustin' out some lead work gets a little harsh due to the ice pick. I have turned my tone control on my guitars down but still doesn't seem right to me. When I hit the amp with od pedals or fuzz pedals the icepick and sizzle really gets pretty harsh.

Having said all that the clean tones on this amp are just increadable with my Telecaster!!

If anyone would like to share there settings or has any tips on controling the EQ's that would be great as I am still learning how the amps EQ section works.

Thanks for reading.

2. riffmeister

riffmeister Gold Supporting Member

Couple of possible solutions.

Turn the MV up to 2 oclock or beyond.

Turn up the cut control all the way, then dial it backwards to tame the top end (note that all of the action in this knob is in the last 1/4 turn).

You might need new tubes, put in some new power tubes and/or put in a lower gain tube in V1 (5771 works great).

3. Zuper

Zuper Supporting Member

Good suggestions by riffmeister. The cut control is really the key on that amp.

How long have you had the amp? Any "issue" I had with any of my TopHats ended up being a tube problem.

4. TREV FLINT

TREV FLINT Member

The amp was built in January 08, and it has Mullard power tubes. It is tube rectified with a EH 6CA4 tube in that spot. Tung Sol 12AX7 occupies the V1.

5. mockoman

mockoman Member

Turn down the middle control. On mine,above 12:00 will be bright,but below 12:00 will fatten up.

Keep the treble low,9:00 or less. With some guitars & effects,you can even turn it all the way down.