Can a novice safely re-bias a Vic 50212 (Tweed Twin)?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by AbstractLunatic, Mar 21, 2006.

1. AbstractLunatic

AbstractLunatic Member

I have to re-tube a Victoria 50212 and was told it will need to be re-biased. I understand the operation and the steps I need to take to do it. But I'm not an electrician so I don't know what parts are what with the rest of the innards so I... well... I don't want to die over an amp.

What advice can you guys give me about gathering the knowledge to re-bias an amp safely? I'm not in a big hurry.

Thanks,
    Morgan

2. brad347

brad347 Member

Two options:

Find the bias pot in the amp, if there is one. (sometimes one is accessible externally, on the old BF and SF Fender amps there was a bias trimpot accessible on the underside of the chassis behind the output transformer). Buy a weber Bias Rite (or similar device) which plugs into the tube sockets, then you plug the tubes into the BR. These are not usually too expensive. Then, by looking up the numbers you want, you turn the bias pot carefully until you get there (this has to be done with the amp on and open if there is no external bias pot, dont touch anything but the bias pot and it won't hurt you).

Option 2: Take it to a tech and pay them 25-50 bucks to bias it for you and show you how to do it yourself (many will do this, some won't). They will have to see if there is a one ohm resistor going between cathode of the power tubes and ground, if not then they will probably want to add those for you. This will not change the tone or feel of the amp at all. All they do is just provide a test point to measure the bias.... then you will put your multimeter + on that test point and the - on the chassis (ground). Do this for each tube and split the difference to get the best average bias point for the two tubes.