Can a Strat be too light?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by 1stormcat, Jul 2, 2009.

1. 1stormcat

1stormcat Member

I'm looking at a 6lb strat Custom Shop Masterbuilt 57 RI.

What are the opinions?

2. Bobby D

Bobby D Member

never too light. only too HEAVY :rolleyes:

3. DANOCASTER

DANOCASTER Silver Supporting Member

as they get lighter - they lose lower mids

depends on whatcha like. I've heard some killer ( and also some thin sounding ) very light strats

as they start getting really light - go with more overwound pickups to fill em out

then again... I'm no strat expert either - but that's my experience w/ fender guitars in general

4. rob2001

rob2001 Member

It might just be in my head, but light guitars just seem thin sounding. Now that I think about it, all three of my guitars are pretty heavy and I like the way they sound. I'm not sure if there is actual data on a lighter guitar sounding thin, but it seems that way in my brain.

Perception =reality??

5. Bobby D

Bobby D Member

maybe it's my BACK talking -- but it seems to me that the tone monster strats i have had (fender, tyler, grosh, sadowsky, charvels, jackson, and others) have all been light.

a featherweight tele is a resonant thing of joy to behold!

something about a really nice and resonant piece of wood just makes me happy.

les paul guys may feel completely different :rolleyes:

6. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member

Your eyes or a scale know nothing about tone & feel...only your ears and hands know the answer ;).

7. gitarboy

gitarboy Silver Supporting Member

Hi,
    I had a Lentz strat once that was very light, it had great tone but I never got use to how light it was... hard to believe that would be a problem but it does feel pretty strange...I would want to play it first if I could, six lbs is extremely light for a strat... if it has a large neck it could be a little neck heavy... again really hard to say without playing it...

Steve

8. Seegs

Seegs Member