Can This Be A Twisted Neck?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by hardys, May 9, 2008.

1. hardys

hardys Member

I bought just bought an 05, G0 from Guitar Center last night. Apparently, it's been hanging in the store for a long time and has a few bumps, but it sound great. It's one of those "stand outs" in the tone department and just sounded better than any other Lester in the store, including the R8 I brought in. It plays really well too and I got a GREAT deal on it.

After I got it home I studied it very carefully and I noticed something that seems odd to me. With the guitar laying on a flat, granite counter top, if I look down the neck from the headstock toward the body, the left ear of the headstock is about 1/8 of an inch closer to the granite than the right ear. So, this makes it appear like there is a slight twist in the neck. Also, if I site down the fretboard from the nut to the body, it seems there may be an ever so slight tilt in the same direction as the left headstock ear. It's very hard for me to tell if there really is a twist, relative to the fretboard, or if it's just an optical illusion. Looking at my R8 though, the headstock ears are of equal distance to the granite surface, but the fretboard looks about the same as the G0.

Is it unusual to have this slightly of headstock alignment? Is there a more precise way to determine if the neck may be twisted? Are twisted necks common? I'm I seeing/imagining things?

2. David Collins

David Collins Member