Cannabis Rex or Celestion G12H for my DRRI?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by smogfalls, Jun 27, 2008.

1. smogfalls

smogfalls Member

Hi,
    I'm totally new to the whole speaker swapping thing and am only going on what I've read on here so far...
    Anyway, I'm looking for a new speaker for my Deluxe Reverb Reissue. I've heard that a simple speaker change can turn this amp from great to excellent! Also, I'd like to tame the highs a little bit so they're not so "ice-picky". I'm after a kind of warm, defined yet still sparkly in the right places kind of a tone.
    I've narrowed it down to these 2 so far...

* Cannabis Rex
    * Celestion G12H

I'm leaning toward the Cannabis Rex as it seems to be the most talked about of the two.
    Is anyone able to compare these two?
    Thanks ever so much,
    Xan :)

2. Mr.Hanky

Mr.Hanky Supporting Member

I'm not familiar with the Rex but I have put a G12H in a blackface Deluxe Reverb and it sounds really nice. It will add a little Marshall mojo to the amp but that can be a good thing.

3. smogfalls

smogfalls Member

Cool, how did the change effect the highs? I'd like to tame the highs a tad but not lose them.

4. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

The G12H30 has plenty of high end. Until one is broken in, it may sound a bit ratty in a Deluxe. The Cannabis Rex will definitely attenuate the high end a bit; the highs will be there but will seem "smoothed out" a bit. The G12H30 is also a bit more efficient but rated a bit lower than the CRex. I really like both of these speakers but I'd probably lean towards the C Rex in a Deluxe.

5. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member

Cannibis Rex...for sure....get the highs mod done...I think it's a cap on the volume pot...also, I really like the Weber beamblockers...I use them in all my amps...really smoothes out the highs some...cause Ice Picky is just no good...espiecally Fender highs like that

6. jockman

jockman Member